Fear the Unknown…

January 18, 2007

[*this post will either make prefect sense or render total falsehood…(it depends really)*]

“Where would we be if throughout history, our greatest minds had feared that which they could not confirm? Embrace the unknown with caution, but not with fear.”

I exclaim the given quotation, as it delineates reality and depicts an understanding of perception. I say perception as often times fear is perceived as a dark and sinister sentiment that should be avoided in any and every circumstance. By and large, we find refuge in simply taking a step back when we are faced by potentially fearful situations, as the probability and perception of the unknown creates skepticism…skepticism which ascends into the inability to react, and thus, we choose not to go forth with its endeavor. In the classic Greek definitions (it’s amazing what I remember in literature classes), ‘horror’ is fear of the unknown, and if this is so, are we to be horrified of something before we even know there is something to be afraid of.

I often see it happen in various incidences around me…be it every student who ~fear the unknown~ results of an examination, friends around who ~fear the unknown~ repercussions and risks upon venturing into a new relationship with the opposite sex (or the same sex…*whichever suits your fancy*) or even the ‘terrified’ Americans on CNN who ~fear the unknown~ possibility of “war”!! Regardless, fear of the unknown somehow, in some way managed to cement a firm grip within us…and unfortunately, often times we allow the emotion to dictate our actions.

I divulge, I too suffer from this ‘disorder’ in more ways than one…and though I largely generalize, I’m also speaking in specifics about myself. I find it fascinating that we would rather not try something at all rather then try something and fail. If we tell ourselves and other around us that their best effort isn’t worthy enough, then aren’t we not perpetuating the same cycle of fear and guilt that has always been our biggest obstacle and merely expanding the given fear and mulish mind set in the process.

Therefore, perhaps fearing the unknown should transfigure into embracing the unknown with caution- as the earlier quotation suggests. Indeed, probabilities and possibilities of the unknown are vague, nevertheless, encompassing fear in the process would only cause further and likely detriment. Pure knowledge must be able to withstand the test of doubt, so they say…and thus, perhaps ~fear of the unknown~ is but a mere feeble illusion.

9 Responses to “Fear the Unknown…”

  1. Q:- what is dat which u fear???

  2. Navin said

    Deeeep thoughts man…

  3. Lynz said

    This blog.. this blog.. this blog gives me an endless depression.. because..err…bee…beeee…beeecauuuseee of the bombastic word. Am I just too stoopeed or, orr..orr..errr…u’re too ge-ge-geniu-sss?? =p

    Neway, I am Cheryl ‘The drama queen”s friend.. lol..

  4. Bryan said

    hahahah…hye ~lynz~…not ~ALL~ my blogs are like this. well, im very much drama (blame Cheryl) as well- hence, the style of writing. i’m absolutely certain ur not stupid, and trust me…its safe to rule out that i’m a ~genius~!! 😛 ~tRuSt ME~!

  5. cheryl said

    haha..v actually read ur blog together.. 🙂 i wanted her to know about my fren that writes great blogs 😉

  6. Lynz said

    Yeah!!!!!!! Cheryl made me a dramatic person too! OhmiGod Cheryl!!! *gasping for help *blurp* *blurp*

    See.. its her fault.. =p

  7. cheryl said

    haha..mixing to much with me..hey, i don’t burp okay..haha

  8. Bryan said

    Lynz; ~lolz~! i truly understand what you’re going tru…heheh…but heck, drama has a funny way of growing on you right~! so thanks cheryl~! 🙂

  9. cheryl said

    asshole..!~

Leave a comment